SAE Game Jam

SAE Game Jam

SAE Game Jam

What better time to lock yourself up for 48h straight to develop a video game than the Christmas season? And that’s why the SAE Institute ran a Game Jam for that matter.

From 06.12 – 08.12 the SAE Institute organized on all of its campuses throughout Germany a Game Jam in association with the WWF. The topic was environment protection. 18 brave developers came together at the campus of Leipzig to meet this challenge.

After getting to know each other and a first brain storming session we formed 3 teams. My team quickly decided to go for a 3D Side-Scroller. A beaver wants to get his pups from the lodge in the middle of the river to the shore. As the babys can’t swim yet, a dam needs to be build across the river. Unfortunately the dam gets constantly damaged by floating plastic waste – a race against time.

Being blessed with multiply artists on the team, we had a high output of assets. Then again there was only one Unity programmer with us. As she dropped out ill after 36h, we felt impelled to rebuild the whole game without a programmer in Unreal – thanks to Blueprints! Unfortunately not all of the features made it into the final game.

Nevertheless I’m very proud of my team and what we achieved. The game can be downloaded on Itch:

https://fronti.itch.io/save-the-biwas

Avatar
Author:

SAE Game Jam

SAE Game Jam

SAE Game Jam

Was könnte es in der Vorweihnachtszeit besinnlicheres geben, als sich 48h lang einzusperren und ein Game zu entwickeln? Und genau deswegen lud das SAE Institute pünktlich zum Nikolaus zu einem Game Jam ein. 

Vom 06.12 – 08.12 wurde deutschlandweit an allen Standorten des SAE Institutes in Kooperation mit dem WWF ein Game Jam ausgerichtet. Das Thema dabei war Umweltschutz. 18 mutige Entwickler kamen am Standort Leipzig zusammen und nahmen die Herausforderung an.

Nach einer Brainstorming Session und dem ersten Beschnuppern, fanden sich letztlich insgesamt 3 Teams zusammen. Die Wahl in unserem Team fiel schnell auf einen 3D Side-Scroller. Ein Biber möchte seine Jungtiere aus dem Biberbau an Land bringen. Da die Babys jedoch noch nicht schwimmen können, muss also ein Damm über den Fluss gebaut werden. Leider wird dieser immer wieder von umhertreibenden Plastikschrott zerstört – ein Wettlauf gegen die Zeit.

Mit einer Vielzahl an Artists gesegnet, hatten wir einen hohen Output an Assets. Im Gegenzug gab es allerdings nur eine Unity-Programmiererin, die all das zusammensetzen musste. Nach etwa 36h fiel diese krankheitsbedingt aus und wir mussten in kürzester Zeit das Spiel ohne Programmierer in Unreal neu aufsetzen – Blueprints sei Dank! Leider haben es am Ende trotzdem nicht alle Features in das Spiel geschafft. 

Dennoch bin ich sehr stolz auf unsere Leistung. Das Spiel gibt es hier auf Itch zum Download:

https://fronti.itch.io/save-the-biwas

Avatar
Author: