The white gold

The white gold

When it comes to porcelain such as vases, bowls, plates, jugs or other tableware, the country of the rising sun often comes to mind - China. However, it is far less known that there has been a similar development in Europe.

It was more of an accident that Johann Friedrich Böttger discovered the European hard-paste porcelain. Serving the Elector of Saxony, August the Strong, Böttger was actually supposed to produce gold. However, after 6 years of futile research and countless failed attempts, he created something equally coveted: porcelain - the white gold.

To honor the 300th anniversary of Böttger's death, the porcelain collection of the staatliche Kunstsammlung Dresden was reissued. Besides a redesign of the Böttger Hall, the history of Böttger and his discovery of porcelain as well as its production process have now been illustrated in small animated films. I contributed the sound design for those films.

The exhibition will reopen on 12th of June.

Avatar
Author:

Das weiße Gold

Das weiße Gold

Wenn es um Porzellan wie Vasen, Schüsseln, Teller, Kannen oder sonstiges Geschirr geht, kommt einem häufig das Land der aufgehenden Sonne in den Sinn – China. Dass es jedoch auch eine ähnliche Entwicklung in Europa gab, ist weit aus weniger bekannt.

Eher durch Zufall hat Johann Friedrich Böttger 1710 das europäische Hartporzellan entdeckt. Im Dienste des Kurfürsten von Sachsen, August dem Starken, sollte Böttger eigentlich Gold herstellen. Nach 6 Jahren vergeblicher Forschung und unzähligen gescheiterten Versuchen erschuf er jedoch etwas ebenso begehrtes: Porzellan – das weiße Gold.

Zu Ehren von Böttgers 300. Todestag wurde die Porzellansammlung der staatlichen Kunstsammlung Dresdens neu aufgelegt. Neben der Umgestaltung des Böttgersaals wird nun auch die Geschichte Böttgers und seiner Entdeckung des Porzellans sowie dessen Herstellungsprozess in kleinen Animationsfilmen veranschaulicht. Ich durfte dafür das Sound Design beisteuern.

Die Ausstellung eröffnet ab dem 12. Juni im neuen Glanz.

Avatar
Author: